March 9, 2017

Number 96

Dante Booker DT 2006
Brandin Bryant DT 2018-
Rob Davidson (also #69) DT 1993-95
Tommy Ford (also #35, #82) HB, FW 1950-54
Alex Hall DE 2012-13
Jack Hutchinson FB 1956-57
Borden (Bud) Korchak (also #34, #86, #89) FW, K 1949-54
Leon Mackey DL 2015
Bob McNamara (also #92) RB, DB 1955-58
Brian Mulhern DB 1955
Ricky Walker (also #9) DT 2021-
Tyrone Williams DT 2009

Winnipeg Football Club Hall of Famers:

  • Bud Korchak (1996)


Division All-Stars:

  • Bud Korchak (1952, 1953)
  • Bob McNamara (1956)
  • Alex Hall (2012, 2013)


CFL Award Winners:

  • Dave Dryburgh Memorial Trophy (West Division leading scorer) – Bud Korchak, 1953


Bomber Team Awards:

  • Most Outstanding Player – Bob McNamara, 1956
  • Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Alex Hall, 2012


He Wore It Well:

Bob McNamara, RB/DB, 1955-58

Bob McNamara was a star at the University of Minnesota – he was the Gophers MVP in 1954 – and was drafted by the Cleveland Browns. He opted to sign instead with the Bombers and spent four years in Winnipeg, flashing brilliance but also fighting injuries.

He set a club record in 1956 with 17 touchdowns – later eclipsed by Gerry James (19 in 1957) and Milt Stegall (23 in 2002) – including a CFL record six scores in an October game in B.C that still stands. Injuries began to pile up after that and he was not in the lineup for the 1958 Grey Cup win before being waived. He then played with the Denver Broncos in the first season of the AFL in 1960.

McNamara then became a big booster for the University of Minnesota and their efforts to build TCF Bank Stadium, which opened in 2009. He passed away in 2014.


Bud Korchak was highlighted at #34.