Dayna Spiring Appointed WFC Board Chair

WINNIPEG, MB., January 23, 2019 – The Winnipeg Football Club today announced that Dayna Spiring has been appointed Chair of the Winnipeg Football Club Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2019. Spiring’s predecessor, Jeff Martin, will continue on with the Board as Past Chair.

With her new role, Spiring becomes the first woman in WFC history to be appointed Board Chair. “Dayna has been a great addition to the Board since her arrival in 2015, and there is no better candidate to take on the role of Board Chair,” said Martin. “Dayna has been a trailblazer throughout her entire career, and it is fitting that she become the Club’s first female Chair.”

In 2016, Spiring also officially became the Winnipeg Football Club’s first-ever female representative to sit on the Canadian Football League’s Board of Governors. She is only the second woman to join the CFL’s Board of Governors and the first since Jo-Anne Polak of the Ottawa Rough Riders ( Alternate Governor, 1989-1991).

The current President & CEO of Economic Development Winnipeg, Spiring became Vice Chair of the WFC Board of Directors in January 2016 after previously holding the position of Corporate Secretary. She was elected to the WFC Board by the public nomination process in January 2015.

Prior to joining Economic Development Winnipeg, Spiring was the former Chief Strategy Officer and General Counsel with the Canadian Wheat Board. Spiring currently serves as a Director for Winpak Ltd. and CancerCare Manitoba Foundation and has previously served on the boards of Manitoba Hydro and Farmers Edge. Spiring also previously served as a Director for Special Olympics Manitoba and lead the team that brought Gold Medal Plates to Winnipeg.

The Club will continue to benefit from an open public nomination process to fill future Board requirements.