January 28, 2019

Number 80

Ted Alford WR 1997
Neil Armstrong (also 76,77) WR, DB 1951, 1953-54
Doyle Burns WR 1996
Brett Carter SB 2014
Shawn Collins WR 1995
Cassidy Doneff WR 2011-12
Geoff Drover (also 70) WR, DB 2001-04
Seydou-Junior Haidara SB 2016
Tylor Henry WR 2018
James Hood WR 1985
Lynn James WR 1992
Nate Johnson WR 1982-83
John (Buddy) Leake (also 72) QB 1955-57
Quentin McCord WR 2006
Darnell McDonald WR 2005
Pat McNerney DT 1998
Rick Potter (also 14, 26) FB 1958-62
Brock Ralph WR 2009
Geroy Simon SB 1999-2000
Jeff Smith WR 1988-89
Eric Streater WR 1990-92
Drew Wolitarsky (also #82) WR 2017-
Joe Zaleski QB, DB 1952-54

Division All-Stars:

  • Neill Armstrong (1951, 1953)


CFL Awards:

  • Dave Dryburgh Memorial Trophy (West Division leading scorer) – Buddy Leake, 1956


He Wore It Well: Eric Streater, WR, 1990-92

Eric Streater wasn’t a Blue Bomber for too long – he played in 38 games over three years – but he was a productive, though, and often overshadowed piece of the team’s last championship.

In the 1990 Grey Cup championship season Streater stepped up with both James Murphy and Perry Tuttle battling injuries and led the team with 12 touchdowns in 15 games while pulling in 74 passes for 781 yards. He went 44-707-4 TDs in 1991 and in ’92 pulled in 27 passes for 376 yards and another four TDs in just eight games.


Geroy Simon is a future Canadian Football Hall of Famer who began his CFL career with the Bombers and had most of his productive years with the B.C. Lions. After two seasons with the Bombers, Simon headed back south for a shot at the NFL and following his release, Winnipeg’s receiving corps was stacked with Milt Stegall, Robert Gordon and Arland Bruce III. Simon signed with the Lions and, ironically, 11 years later became the CFL’s all-time receiving yardage leader – breaking Stegall’s record – in a game against the Bombers.


Joe Zaleski was a back-up quarterback and defensive back in his days with the Bombers, returning in 1958 to serve as an assistant coach under Bud Grant. He was part of the staff during the team’s four championships in five years from 1958-62, and when Grant left for the Minnesota Vikings in 1967, was named the team’s head coach. The Bombers would struggle in those years, going 10-37-1 before Zaleski was relieved of his duties at the end of the 1969 season… We highlighted the accomplishments of Neil Armstrong at #76  and Buddy Leake at #72.