February 14, 2017

Number 73

Dave Black G, T 1985-95
Gordon Brown DE, LB 1966-69
Randy Fabi (also 72) FB 1985-89
Fred Hadley WR 1991
Dick Herbertson (also 71) G, T 1955
Billy Howard DT 1977-79
John Konihowski WR 1981-82
John Kropke DT 1996
Bill Larochelle E 1953
Cec Luining (also 57) DE, G 1954-63
John Pitts LB 1984
Peter Ribbins DB, WR 1971-72, 1973-76
John Senst WR 1970
John Simmons E 1964
Marty Smith DT 1977-78
Andrew Stewart DT 1999
Dave West RB, DB 1953


Winnipeg Football Club Hall of Famers:

  • David Black (2004)


CFL All-Stars:

  • David Black


Division All-Stars:

  • David Black (1989, 1993, 1994)


CFL Award Winners:

  • Dr. Beattie-Martin Trophy (West Division Outstanding Canadian rookie, to 1972) – John Senst, 1970


He Wore It Well: Cec Luining, DE, G , 1954-63

A native Winnipegger, Luining cut his teeth playing his high-school ball at Daniel McIntyre and with the Winnipeg Rods before joining the Bombers. He was four Grey Cup championship teams as one of the many Canadians who so capably performed under Bud Grant’s watch.

Luining was nicknamed ‘The Selkirk Milkman’ because he helped operated the family dairy in Selkirk. And after his retirement from football he also served on the Selkirk City Council.


David Black wore the #73 at the start of his career, but really made his name as a Bomber and in the CFL at #51 and we singled him out there… Peter Ribbins might be remembered by Bomber fans for a couple of reasons. First, he set a club record with four interceptions in one regular season game during a visit to B.C. in 1972 – later broken by Rod Hill in 1990. And, second, he was traded to Hamilton for a man who would later become a Bomber and Canadian Football Hall of Famer: John Bonk… John Senst pulled in 22 passes for 393 yards and a TD in his rookie season, earning him the Dr. Beattie-Martin Trophy as the West Division’s top Canadian rookie (awarded until 1972). Senst was then traded to Calgary in 1971 for offensive lineman Billy Roy, but he retired before the start of the season.