September 7, 2016

Dieter Brock to be inducted into Ring of Honour

must credit -KEN GIGLIOTTI / WINNIPEG FREE PRESS / Sept 30 1981- Winnipeg Blue Bomber QB Dieter Brock , played 10 seasons with the Bombers from 1974-83

WINNIPEG, MB., September 7, 2016 –   The Winnipeg Blue Bombers today announce Dieter Brock as the fifth inductee to the Ring of Honour presented by the Insurance Brokers of Manitoba (IBAM) at Investors Group Field.

A Blue Bomber from 1974-83, Brock remains the club’s All-Time passing yardage leader with 29,623 yards, as well as the touchdown-passing leader with 177. He is the only player in the franchise’s history to win two Most Outstanding Player awards in 1980 and 1981, at the same time being named a CFL All-Star for those two seasons.

“Dieter Brock was named the team’s MOP two years in a row and set records that still stand to this day,” said President & CEO, Wade Miller. “Given his incredible accomplishments with the Winnipeg Football Club, we are thrilled to be able to add his name to the Ring of Honour.”

In 1981, Brock also broke the CFL record for passing yards in a season (set in 1956 by Montreal’s Sam Etcheverry) by throwing for 4,796 yards. He was then inducted into the WFC Hall of Fame in 1990 as well as the Canadian Football League Hall of Fame in 1995.

“It’s just unbelievable and I’m thrilled to death about it,” said Brock. “Honestly, being inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame is great, but this is much more than that to me. I couldn’t be more honoured to be in the company of the guys that are up there. This really tops it for me as the greatest thrill.”

This season’s inductees will be recognized with an unveiling ceremony at each regular season home game. Each following year, one more alumni will be added to the Blue Bombers Ring of Honour.