October 22, 2015

Matt Bucknor Receives Ed Kotowich Good Guy Award


The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have named name Matt Bucknor as this year’s Ed Kotowich Good Guy Award recipient, which recognizes a Blue Bomber player for excellence in combining football ability, team camaraderie, and extraordinary effort in the community.

Matt Bucknor has been a leader in community initiatives since signing with the Bombers in 2014. He participates in many school and community visits year-round, and is known for his inspiring speeches about perseverance and goal-setting. Matt also participates in a youth mentorship program in his hometown of Hamilton, Ontario, and is looking to bring a similar program to Winnipeg this off-season.

“I am honoured to be the recipient of the Ed Kotowich award,” says Bucknor. “I enjoy giving back to the community that we are all a part of as Winnipeg Blue Bombers.”

Ed Kotowich was a member of the Blue Bombers for seven seasons between 1955 and 1961. He played in three Grey Cups during that time (1958, 1959, and 1961) and earned individual recognition as a Western All-Star and as a recipient of the Tommy Lumsden Award as the Bombers’ outstanding Canadian Player.

After retiring as a player, Kotowich worked with the Winnipeg Rods as an offensive line coach and later with minor football programs at Winakwa and Windsor Park Community clubs. He also served as an alderman for the City of St. Boniface between 1968 and 1977 and worked on a number of community boards including the St. Boniface Parks Board, the St. Boniface Museum and the Knights of Columbus. He was also an ardent supporter of the Festival du Voyageur and the Boni-Vital pool complex.

Past Ed Kotowich Award Winners:

1987 – Vernon Pahl     
1988 – Trevor Kennerd      
1989 – Perry Tuttle      
1990 – Rod Hill      
1991 – Matt Pearce      
1992 – Darryl Sampson                  
1993 – Matt Dunigan    
1994 – Matt Pearce           
1995 – Miles Gorrell      
1996 – Wade Miller
1997 – Wade Miller      
1998 – Glen Scrivener
1999 – Dave Vankoughnett
2000 – Troy Westwood 
2001 – Brett MacNeil     
2002 – Dave Mudge 
2003 – Moe Elewonibi  
2004 – Matt Sheridan
2005 – Milt Stegall        
2006 – Chris Cvetkovic     
2007 – Milt Stegall              
2008 – Ibrahim “Obby” Khan              
2009 – Jon Oosterhuis        
2010 – Doug Brown
2011 – Buck Pierce
2012 – Chris Cvetkovic
2013 – Henoc Muamba
2014 – Chris Greaves