October 31, 2013

Henoc Muamba Wins “Good Guy” Award

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have announced that linebacker Henoc Muamba has been named the recipient of the 2013 Ed Kotowich ‘Good Guy’ Award, which recognizes a Blue Bomber player for their excellence in combining football ability, team camaraderie and extraordinary effort in the community. Muamba will be recognized with the Kotowich family prior to Saturday’s kickoff against Hamilton.

After volunteering at the Breakfast Club Program at Hampstead School following the 2012 season, Muamba was inspired to start the “Muamba Perfect 10” program. The ‘MP10’ program gives underprivileged kids an opportunity to experience Bomber games at Investors Group Field. After each home game, Muamba addresses the group, leaving them with a positive, uplifting and motivating message to encourage them to strive for perfection.

Beyond ‘MP10’ program, Muamba also volunteers to share various messages at churches, schools and different programs. In addition, he also speaks at these events through Big Brothers Big Sisters of Winnipeg and Athletes In Action, two organizations Muamba is very supportive of.

This award honours Ed Kotowich – a former outstanding offensive lineman who played for Winnipeg from 1955-1961, playing in three Grey Cup games (’58, ’59, ’61).

After retiring as a player, Kotowich worked with the Winnipeg Rods as an offensive line coach and later with minor football programs at Winakwa and Windsor Park Community Clubs. He also served as an alderman for the city of St. Boniface between 1968 and 1977 and worked on a number of community boards, including the St. Boniface Parks Board, the St. Boniface Museum and the Knights of Columbus.

Kotowich was an outstanding player on the field and was even more outstanding in the community and this award goes to the Bomber player who best represents what Kotowich was all about.

The third-year Canadian linebacker, was also named the Blue Bombers Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian and Most Outstanding Defensive Player yesterday as voted on by members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and the CFL head coaches.