October 29, 2007

Stegall honoured for work on and off field

So it is only fitting that Stegall was earlier today named the recipient of the 2007 Ed Kotowich Good Guy Award. The award recognizes a Blue Bomber player for their excellence in combining football ability, team camaraderie and extraordinary effort in the community and honours former Blue Bomber offensive lineman Ed Kotowich.

Stegall is currently having one of the best seasons of his 13-year CFL career. He became the CFL’s All-Time Touchdown Leader earlier this season and has scored a total of 144 TDs since breaking into the league with the Big Blue in 1995.

The Turtle-Man also recently topped the 1,000-yard receiving mark for the 10th time of his career and is once again among the league-leaders in pass receptions this year.

Stegall has been equally productive in the community this past year. He has made countless appearances on behalf of organizations such as CancerCare Manitoba, the Never Alone Foundation and the Italian Chamber of Commerce of Manitoba.
Denise Kotowich and Milt Stegall.

One of only three two-time winners of the Ed Kotowich Award, Stegall has also given generously of his time to causes like the Siloam Mission for the homeless and Special Olympics Manitoba. As well, he has made numerous public appearances at local community centres and churches and has spoken to youth on several occasions about drug and gang awareness.

Ed Kotowich was a member of the Blue Bombers for seven seasons between 1955 and 1961. He played in three Grey Cups during that time (1958, ’59 and ’61) and earned individual recognition as a Western All-Star and as a recipient of the Tommy Lumsden Award as the Bombers’ outstanding Canadian player.

After retiring as a player, Kotowich worked with the Winnipeg Rods as an offensive line coach and later with minor football programs at Winakwa and Windsor Park Community clubs. He also served as an alderman for the City of St. Boniface between 1968 and 1977 and worked on a number of community boards including the St. Boniface Parks Board, the St. Boniface Museum and the Knights of Columbus. He was also an ardent supporter of the Festival du Voyageaur and the Boni-Vital pool complex.

A complete list of former Ed Kotowich Award winners is included below.

        YEAR        PLAYER

        1987        Vernon Pahl
        1988        Trevor Kennerd
        1989        Perry Tuttle
        1990        Rod Hill
        1991        Matt Pearce
        1992        Darryl Sampson
        1993        Matt Dunigan
        1994        Matt Pearce
        1995        Miles Gorrell
        1996        Wade Miller
        1997        Wade Miller
        1998        Glen Scrivener
        1999        Dave Vankoughnett
        2000        Troy Westwood
        2001        Brett MacNeil
        2002        Dave Mudge
        2003        Moe Elewonibi
        2004        Matt Sheridan
        2005        Milt Stegall
        2006        Chris Cvetkovic
        2007        Milt Stegall